About this image
The Methodists moved from St Michael's Lane and built a new Methodist Chapel on King Street in 1805.With the expansion of Derby in the late 18th century, and the influx of new workers from the countryside, the area around St Alkmund's, and north of St Werburgh's, was where the growth was taking place, particularly around Nun's Green and along Friar Gate. The land had been common grazing land, but was sold by the burgesses for development to provide expansion for the town. Between 1783 and 1808, the first Particular Baptist Chapel, the first General Baptist Chapel, an Independent Chapel and the first Quaker Meeting House, were all built; mostly on the north-west side of Derby.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.