About this image
The building of the present church was begun by the Normans in the 12th century and originally comprised a chancel and nave. Among the important Norman features is the corbel table of ten grotesque heads at the top of what was then the outside of the North wall of the chancel, but now inside the North Chapel which is used as a vestry. In the North wall of the chancel, under an ogee arch, is a Norman tomb, restored in 1847, which is thought to bear the remains of a founder member of the church, possibly Eugenulph de Ferrers. He died in 1086 and was the eldest son of the Henry de Ferrers who fought alongside William of Normandy in 1066 and was given the Manor of Duffield and many others for his services. Other principal remains of the Norman period are several coffin lids built into the walls of the ringing chamber and carved stones in the South wall of the chancel. These probably came from the ruins of Duffield Castle.
Extensions during the 13th, 14th and 15th centuries and additions and alterations in the 19th century brought the church to the dimensions now familiar to modern day worshippers. The latest addition in 1992, designed by Anthony Rossi, is the Church-cum-Parish Hall, a great asset to the ministry of the church and the social life of the village. (information from www.duffieldparishchurch.co.uk)
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.