About this image
Beneath the image it reads: "Taken the morning it was pulled down, by W Pickering from a sketch in the possession of W White Watson of Bakewell".
Darley Abbey was originally an Augustinian priory, founded by Robert Ferrers, second Earl of Derby, around 1146. The Abbey became one of the most important in Derbyshire, but was surrendered as part of the Dissolution of Monastries, in 1538, and almost totally obliterated. What is now the 'Abbey Pub' is the only remaining building, thought to have been used as the Abbey's guest house for travellers and pilgrims during the 13th century, though some say that it was the monk's refectory. Dendrochronology (analysis of the tree growth rings in the timbers) date the building, or perhaps parts of it that might have been refurbished to c 1429. During renovation, 12th century pottery was unearthed.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.