About this image
The Roman Catholic Chapel was built c 1813 under the direction of the Reverend Bloodworth. There is no evidence that it was dedicated to a particular Saint. It could hold 100 people, and later 300 after an extension. A school was also added for over 50 children. It was replaced in 1839 by St Mary's.
The etching/engraving printed plate was taken from Simpson's History published by G Wilkins and Sons.
Exact location unknown.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.