Miss Frances Webb
7 June 1821
off Croxall Road
About this image
The text below the image reads:
"Embosom'd deep in consecrated shade,That seems for heavenly contemplation madeSweet Church thou stand'st."
Following information from www.edingalevillage.co.uk:
The earliest record of the church was when it was given over to the control of the Augustinian Priory of Repton in 1239. It remained in the control of the priors until the dissolution of the monasteries. Repton was a wealthy institution and that wealth is reflected in its churches. By the early 1500s, the church was a much bigger building than it is today.
It seems to have had both a south and north aisle off its nave. The north aisle is supposed to have been demolished around 1500 and the south aisle in the early 1600s. Traces of both are easily visible in the church building today û their absence leaves the present building lacking some cohesion in its appearance. The church was refurbished on three occasions in the nineteenth century, most comprehensively in 1868-70, and many of the present internal fittings and some of the external envelope date from this period.
No known connection to Derbyshire.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.