About this image
Tapton House was built in the 18th Century by the Wilkinson Family. Tapton House was leased to George Stephenson in 1838. In 1871 it was bought by Charles Markham, Director of Staveley Coal and Iron Company. It was their home until 1925 and then he gave 200 acres of parkland to the Borough. 1931 saw the first pupils to pass through the doors to Tapton House Central Selective School. The school continued till 1993. After refurbishment in September 1994 it became a College of Higher Education for people of Chesterfield and surrounding area. Tapton House is a Grade II listed building.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.