This image can be used commercially
Chatsworth Inn (now The Chatsworth Estate Office), Edensor, 1827-28
Miss Frances Webb
About this image
Built by the 5th Duke in 1778 and designed by Derby architect Joseph Pickford it was originally the Edensor Inn. In 1868 it was known as the Chatsworth Inn; later it became the Chatsworth Institute; then the Cavendish Club and is now the Chatsworth Estate Office.
This images shows the building after improvements made in 1827-28.
See DCHQ200390 for just the image of the Inn.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.