About this image
Doveridge Hall was built by Sir Henry Cavendish in 1769 and commanded superb views across the River. In 1792 the Cavendish family became Lords Waterpark and the Hall was used by the family until 1894; with their revenue from Ireland seriously reduced, they decided to rent the Hall out as a way of obtaining a more substantial income.
Mr Frank Addison Brace leased the Hall from 1891 and was so incensed by the peasants walking too close to it that he petitioned the Parish Council until he was given permission to have the Suspension Bridge built and the footpath diverted. The diversion took the footpath from the Suspension Bridge on a raised footpath to Uttoxeter. Mr Brace had the Bridge built in 1898 and then spent £6,000 to raise the footpath on the Staffordshire side - a considerable expense for increased privacy.
After falling into disrepair the Hall was finally demolished in 1938/9.Information from www.doveridge-village.org
Exact location of hall unknown.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.