This image can be used commercially
Proof of Derby Grammar (Free) School, St Peter's Churchyard, c 1800?
Miss Frances Webb
St Peter's Churchyard
About this image
The Free School was established in 1554 by a Charter from Queen Mary. It was funded from property formerly belonging to Darley Abbey. It moved to St Helen's House in 1863. It left Derby Borough Council control in 1972. This picture shows a North East view of the exterior of the School.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.