About this image
The Crown Court, also known as County Hall, was designed by George Eaton of Etwall, and constructed in c 1660. The building was originally used for concerts, plays, and gatherings, as well as courts and assizes. This ceased in 1714, when the New Assembly Rooms were built. The buildings then became exclusively a Crown Court, with an inn added on one side around 1795, judges lodgings on the right side in 1811 and courts added in 1829. The courts were closed and moved to Morledge in 1989.
Exact location on Friar Gate unknown.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.