This image can be used commercially
The Guildhall 'Town Hall', Market Place, Derby, 1842
Miss Frances Webb
14 April 1842
About this image
The classical-style Guildhall was originally built in 1828 by Habershon, but was later remodelled in 1841-2 by Duesbury and Lee after a fire early on the morning of the 21st October 1841. They gave the guildhall its central tower and domical cap.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.