About this image
While this engraving is titled 'View of Matlock', it actually depicts Matlock Bath. Matlock Bath was commonly referred to as Matlock pre circa 1880 as 'The Matlocks' referred to Matlock Green, Matlock Bank, Matlock Town, Matlock Bridge and Matlock Bath. The ladies are standing at the top of Fish Pond Hill looking north along the South Parade of shops - which was the Museum Parade at the time. Where the Pavilion and Mining Museum now stand was the stables used by the day trip coach and horses which took visitors out to places such as Haddon Hall and Chatsworth. At that time visitors to Matlock Bath were wealthy and stayed for several weeks at a time. In front of the stables was a pool of thermal water used for the horses, which is now the Fishpond with the car park behind it.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.
Picture the Past is grateful to website contributor Clare Herbert for clarifying the location of this view.