About this image
Built by Lord of the Manor Ralph Standish-Howard during 1729 to 1735 the hall was originally called Royle Hall. It reverted back to the Ninth Duke of Norfolk when the Standish-Howard line ended in the late 1730s.
The Duke of Norfolk used Glossop Hall as a shooting lodge and so it remained unoccupied for most of the year.
This Glossop Hall renovated c 1850; the left side, south wing, was enlarged but still looked looked very similar and the right, the north wing wall shown, was removed and a wing built matching the left side; the part projecting was built as a chapel with a conical tower. The hall was demolished in 1958-59.
The Hall has also been known as Glossop Manor House and Kingsmoor School.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.
This image also appears in the London Illustrated News of September 25th 1852. The page of the LIN also has an article about a visit by the Duke of Norfolk to the Hall which has been recently enlarged and improved. (Additional information kindly supplied by Mike Brown and Glossop Heritage Trust).