About this image
The Square, or Village Green, with a picturesque row of cottages behind. The green lies at the centre of the village, and is now bordered by the school, pub and Cafe. This photograph is taken before the 'king' and 'queen' trees were planted to celebrate the coronation of King George V and Queen Mary in 1910. The village war memorial is also missing from this photograph. It now stands near to the old village cross, the base of which dates back to the 14th century when Monyash was granted a charter to hold a weekly market. The spire of St Leonard's Church can be seen in the background. The Church of St Leonard dates back to before 1200, and houses a sedilia and piscina which were installed in c 1199. Built out of local limestone, the church originally consisted solely of a nave and chancel, but by the end of the 14th century it had grown to its present size with north and south aisles and transepts, and a tower capped by an octagonal spire. The church is a Grade II listed building of national importance. A major restoration project is currently underway and money is being raised to deal with crumbling stone work around some of the medieval windows. Derbyshire Libraries hold the copyright to this image.