About this image
Alfreton Hall was built for George Morewood in 1724 by Francis Smith of Warwick. The Palmer Morewood family lived at the Hall until 1957. The older part was demolished in 1968. What remains is the East wing (1892), which is a grade II listed building. The remainder of the hall was converted into an arts and adult education centre. The land was used as part of an attractive public park, providing facilities for swimming and other sports. The old lido has been demolished and the land is the site of the Alfreton Primary Care Centre. The hall has been restored and is now a conference centre.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.