This image can be used commercially
Gateway on Longshaw Estate, Longshaw, c 1940s ?
From collection of F H Brindley
Brindley, F H
c 1940s ?
About this image
The photographer's second wife - Doris Brindley - is pictured here beside a gate on the Longshaw Estate. The gate is of a standard design used throughout the Estate but it has not proved possible to establish precisely the location, although the building on the skyline may be White Edge Lodge. The flat-topped stone gate piers appear to be more characteristic of the eastern part of the estate; elsewhere piers with pyramidal-shaped tops are employed.
The 11,533 acre Longshaw Estate formerly belonged to the Duke of Rutland. On 5 July 1927 it was put up for sale by auction, being sub-divided into many different lots. Lot 1 contained Longshaw Lodge and its grounds plus an area of land known as Lawrence Field that was described as 'well heathered picturesque moorland'. This 747 acre plot is what today is referred to as the Longshaw Estate.
Sheffield Corporation purchased 3,000 acres of moorland at this auction, primarily for the collection of water but in 1931 they handed over this portion of the Estate to the National Trust for the sum of £14,000.
Today at Longshaw there is a tea room, shop and a learning facility called the Moorland Discovery Centre, which is a joint venture between the National Trust and the Peak National Park. Events are run on the Estate relating to wildlife, the Estate itself and many other topics. The name Longshaw is thought to have derived from the long wood in nearby Padley Gorge.