This image can be used commercially
Longshaw Lodge, Longshaw, 1931
From collection of F H Brindley
Brindley, F H (Photographic Journalist, 973 Abbeydale Road, Sheffield)
2 July 1931
About this image
Although aside from a date there are no caption details for this view it probably shows the opening to the public of the Longshaw Estate following its acquisition by the National Trust.
Longshaw Lodge was built in 1827 for the Duke of Rutland as a shooting box for his 11,533 acre Longshaw Estate. On 5 July 1927 the Estate was put up for sale by auction, being sub-divided into many different lots. Lot 1 contained the Lodge and its grounds plus an area of land known as Lawrence Field that was described as 'well heathered picturesque moorland'. This 747 acre plot is what today is referred to as the Longshaw Estate.
Sheffield Council purchased 3,000 acres of moorland at this auction, primarily for the collection of water but in 1931 they handed over this portion of the Estate to the National Trust for the sum of £14,000.
Today at Longshaw there is a tea room, shop and a learning facility called the Moorland Discovery Centre, which is a joint venture between the National Trust and the Peak National Park. Events are run on the Estate relating to wildlife, the Estate itself and many other topics. The name Longshaw is thought to have derived from the long wood in nearby Padley Gorge.