About this image
Unitarian Chapel, originally built in c 1698 by a Presbyterian Congregation. See also DRBY001716 which shows the same building, but with later extensions: two porches were built in 1860 and rebuilt in 1890. The chapel was demolished in 1974.
Exact location on Friar Gate unknown.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.