About this image
The text reads: "Taken out of the New Inn window in February 1792, by W Gell, from whose sketch this is a fac-simile", which is dated 1824.
St Helen's House was designed by Joseph Pickford for John Gisbourne in 1767. It became the home of The 1st Lord Belper, William Strutt and his son, Edward, in 1803, and became Derby Grammar School 1863-1966. A Free School had been established in 1554 by a Charter from Queen Mary. It was funded from property formerly belonging to Darley Abbey. It then moved into St Helen's House in 1863. The school left Derby Borough Council control in 1972, after which St Helen's House became and Adult Education Centre.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.