This image can be used commercially
North view of the Guildhall 'Town Hall', Market Place, Derby, c 1750s?
Miss Frances Webb
About this image
The Guildhall was built in 1730 on the site of the previous hall. The 1825 Derby Improvement Act required it to be rebuilt. The new Guildhall was built in 1828. It was designed by Matthew Habershon and built at a cost of £7000 in a Grecian style, and contained the Court of Sessions. On 21 October 1841 it burnt down, leaving only the outside walls. Henry Duesbury was commissioned to design a replacement (see image DCHQ200303).
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.