This image can be used commercially
St John's Church, St John's Road, Buxton, 1813
Miss Frances Webb
25 March 1813
St John's Road
About this image
St John the Baptist's Church was built to the west of the Old Hall in c 1811, probably by John White. It has an east entrance portico with Tuscan Columns, closed in to form a chancel in 1896-7 by Blomfield and Son. The domed top of the tower has 'no parallel in the normal neo-classical church types of 1810-20.' (Pevsner)
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.