This image can be used commercially
'A view of Buxton Crescent with the improvements from the Grove', The Crescent, Buxton, c 1800?
Miss Frances Webb
About this image
The Crescent was built between 1780 and 1784 by John Carr of York, for the 5th Duke of Devonshire. The Duke paid £120000 (paid from profits of the Duke's copper mine at Ecton). The building contains a fine Adam style Assembly Room, beautifully restored by Derbyshire County Council, with the original chandeliers in position. It is now used as a study library.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.