This image can be used commercially
Repton Priory from southwest, Willington Road, Repton, 1811
Miss Frances Webb
About this image
The Augustinian Priory at Repton stood from 1172 until it was suppressed by Henry VIII in 1538. Repton School, founded in 1557 by Sir John Port, now stands on the site.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.