View of Stanton Park showing Stanton Hall, off Main Street, Stanton in Peak, Matlock, c 1840s?
About this image
Standing sedately amidst rolling parkland south of Main Street and with magnificent views across the valley to the west, Stanton Hall dates from the late 16th century and, with its 5,000-acre estate, is the home of the Thornhill family.
The hall was extensively rebuilt in 1693, and extended further over a century later by Bache Thornhill; today only one gabled bay remains of the original building. A high perimeter wall surrounds Stanton Hall, running alongside the lane for some 300 yards; it was built early in the 19th century by Bache Thornhill to enclose the 130-acre deer park.
Successive generations of Thornhills have been responsible for the majority of buildings in the village including the Holy Trinity church, provided by William Pole Thornhill (1805-75) in 1839.
This image is one of a collection by the famous local antiquarian, Thomas Bateman, of Middleton by Youlgreave. (1821-1861). Bateman organized his collection by inserting them into a 4 volume copy of Lysons Magna Britannia, Derbyshire, creating a fascinating and unique illustrated record of the county. The purchase of the collection for Derbyshire Libraries was made possible by the generous bequest of Miss Frances Webb of Whaley Bridge, well known local historian, who died in December 2006.