This image can be used commercially
Village lock-up and pinfold, Worthington, Leicestershire, c 1915 ?
Scarratt, F W
c 1915 ?
About this image
The round house or village lock-up on Church Street (then Church Road) in a state of disrepair. This octagonal red-brick structure is thought to date from the late 18th century and is one of a cluster of such buildings to be found on the Derbyshire and Leicestershire border, other examples being at Ticknall, Breedon on the Hill, Smisby and Packington. It is thought they were used to temporarily detain 'rogues and miscreants' and also local inhabitants who had had too much to drink. No doubt the former would then be removed to the local town (probably Ashby de la Zouch in this case), while the latter would be released once they had sobered up.
To the left of the lock-up is the village pinfold where stray animals would be kept until claimed by their owners. This view is looking south-east and the Castle Donington-Swannington road can just be detected climbing the hill in the left distance. The photographer's Douglas motorcycle is propped on the verge.
During World War Two the lock-up was used as a pillbox but it survived this experience to be Listed Grade II in 1965 and has been restored. However, its situation is today very different from that seen here as in the 1950s houses were constructed on the fields to the rear and the building now stands on a street corner surrounded by dwellings. The pinfold was less lucky and was swept away; the 'urn and spike' finial surmounting the lock-up has also been lost at some stage.
This photo was taken by Derby-based postcard publisher F W Scarratt and although its original number in his series has not been discovered, it may have been in the low 1000s.